Home Cities & Towns YC protests against power crisis at Nowshera

YC protests against power crisis at Nowshera

NOWSHERA: A protest was held at Nowshera under the leadership of Rishiv Sharma, President Youth Congress, Nowshera-Sunderbani Assembly over power crisis. The main Chowk of Nowshera was blocked by the protesters.
Rishiv in his speech alleged that there is poor supply of electricity in the area with low voltage/unscheduled power cuts.
He said, “Nowshera has been denied of the electricity from Siot Grid Station and the electricity is supplied to other areas. The Nowshera grid is connected to Kalakote grid station which is overloaded and is the main cause of electricity problem.” “During the COVID-19, the students are the worst sufferers as their examinations are approaching closer; also the elderly people and patients with different health problems such as BP, diabetes etc are too suffering because of erratic power supply and low voltage in this peak of summer,” he added.
Sharma said, “It has now become a trend to suppress and ignore the area but as long as we are alive; we will never tolerate discrimination against Nowshera”. He said, everyone knows the 2018 agitation of Nowshera District Status, and nobody should underestimate the power of people of Nowshera.
Sharma also demanded the replacement of old transformers with higher capacity transformers and He warned the PDD officials and the district administration that they would come out on roads and block the Jammu-Poonch National Highway if the issue is not resolved within days.
Later, Senior Congress Leader, Adv Rajinder Parshad Sharma and President Beopar Mandal, Subhash Kapoor, Sukhdev Sharma, Subhash Tuli also joined the protest. A memorandum of demands was also submitted to Additional Deputy Commissioner Nowshera.
Youth Congress Leaders including Dheeraj Kapoor, Shrikant Choudhary, Aman Attri, Anmol Sudan, Ishan Sharma, Sourav Choudhary, Sahil Sudan, Rishav Sharma, Vinod Choudhary, Arun Sharma, Ankit Sudan, Amit Sudan, Sumit Sudan, Abhishek, Raghav Bakshi, Abhi Khokher and many others were present.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular