Udhampur Zone emerges district Cricket Champ



UDHAMPUR: The formidable side of Udhampur Zone emerged district champion beating Zone Jib in the final of the inter-zone cricket trophy, organised by the Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS) for LG Rolling Trophy at Subhash Stadium, here on Saturday.
Earlier, batting first Zone Zib made 134 runs in allotted 20 overs, which, in reply, Udhampur zone chased in 19.5 overs making it a close finish.
Himanshu, who contributed 21 runs and also took a wicket from the winning side was declared man of the match. The Man of the Series trophy went to Gourav Khajuria of Udhampur Zone. Gourav made 142 runs and took nine wickets.
Winners Udhampur Zone team was accompanied by Vickey Sharma and Ashok Sharma as Manager and Coach respectively.
From runners-up, Zone Jib, Sanjay Sharma and Rakesh were Manager and Coach respectively.
All the educational zones of district Udhampur took part in this competition at different venues. The competition was meant for those male cricketers between the age of 19 and 35 years under Mission Youth.
In the final and valedictory function, Joint Director (DYSS Jammu), Atul Gupta was the Chief Guest while Preeti Khajuria, Councilor Ward No. 01 , Naveen Sharma (Manager Sports Stadium), Inspector Sunil Sharma, Poonam Sharma (ZPEO Jib) were Guests of Honour. Vipin Kumar, Joginder Sharma were Special Guests.
Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Guest congratulated the teams, officials and field staff of district Udhampur for their contributions and efforts in successful conduct of the event. He also advised the players to keep away from drugs and channelize their energy in sports activities. Later, the Deputy Director presented jerseys to the officials.
Earlier, district (DYSS) officer, Swaran Singh while welcoming the Deputy Director and other guests, gave a brief description of the tournament.
The district officer along with Ashwani Kotwal (convener) and Som Dev Khajuria (PEM) and Ramesh Chander, Incharge ZPEO Udhampur Ajit Singh interacted with the teams in the presence of officials and field staff. A pledge was also taken by all field staff and players against Drugs for Nasha Mukt Abhiyan.
Officials who conducted the final match were Raj Kumar Gupta, Raj Kumar Dogra, Vinod Khajuria, Rajesh Kumar, Rakesh Khajuria and Raman Kumar.
Among others present were Jaswinder Singh, Anita Goswami, Sanjeev Kumar, Vikas Kumar (all PEM), Jatin Sethi, Karun Magotra, Abdul Qadir Bhoopinder Singh, Rakesh Kumar, Sudesh Kumar(all PET), Sanjeev Khajuria, Vipin Photra (both REK), Arjun, Lalit and Abhishek.