Semis line-up drawn in 33rd JK UT Junior Volleyball Championship



JAMMU: Semifinals position has been cleared with Jammu, Kathua, Samba and Poonch teams in boys section entering the last four stages  in the three-day 33rd JK UT Junior Volleyball Championship (boys & girls) being organized by volleyball association of Jammu & Kashmir under the aegis of J&K Sports Council at MA Stadium and Shastri Nagar playfield, here.In boys semifinal matches, Jammu to face Poonch and Kathua to meet Samba at 10:00 AM on Monday.Earlier in quarterfinal matches in boys section played today, Jammu beat Ramban by 2-0 (25-18, 25-18); Samba beat Udhampur by 2-0 (25-11, 25-10); Poonch beat Kulgam by 2-0 (26-24, 25-17); and Kathua beat Rajouri by 2-0 (25-19, 25-21).In girls section, Jammu  and Srinagar entered the final. Earlier in semifinal matches, Jammu beat Udhampur 3-0 sets  and Srinagar beat Baramulla 3-1 sets. Girls quarterfinals: Jammu beat Anantnag by 2-0 (25-12, 25-13); Srinagar beat Kathua by 2-0 (25-12, 25-12); Udhampur beat Kulgam by 2-0 (25-18, 25-12); Baramulla beat Samba by 2-1 (14-25, 25-21, 15-8).International volleyball player from Poonch, Saqlain Tariq was the star attraction in today’s matches. Saqlain has represented India in a number of international volleyball tournaments.Over 400 players & officials from 17 districts of JK UT namely Kupwara, Baramulla, Ganderbal, Anantnag, Srinagar, Budgam, Kulgam, Bandipora, Pulwama, Shopian, Ramban, Udhampur, Rajouri, Poonch, Kathua, Samba and Jammu are participating in the championship. On the first day of championship total 26 matches were played which was a herculean task for technical/Organisers to achieve the desired goals.Raj Daluja Patron-in-Chief, Kuldeep Magotra CEO, H S Gill Executive Vice President, Vijay Kumar Magotra General Secretary, M L Toofan and Ab. Ahad Shah (Vice Presidents), R C Sharma Treasurer, Rajiv Dogra senior volleyball Coach SAI, Mohd Tariq Joint Secretary, Balvinder Singh, Subash Shastri, Suresh Chib (Executive Members) of Volleyball Association of J&K and members of various sports associations and sports lovers present on the occasion.The players pledged to make society drug free by joining a signature campaign launched by the Department of Social Welfare.Today’s matches were officiated by the panel of referees including Amarjeet Singh, Neeraj Sharma, Manik Sharma, Mulkh Raj Sharma, Amit Sharma, Amit Sadotra, Bhawna Sharma, Anil Spolia, Roshan Lal, Shubham Sharma, Prince, Sahil Sharma, Palvinder Singh, Satpaul, Khalid Hussain, Rohini, Ashima Mahajan, Shivali and Rimika.
“Advisor to Lieutenant Governor, Farooq Khan will be the chief guest and Excise Commissioner J&K, Kishore Singh Chib will be the Guest of Honour in the closing ceremony which will be presided over by the Secretary, J&K Sports Council, Nuzhat Gul,” said Kuldeep Magotra, Chief Executive Officer of VAJK.