Raghav emerges men’s champion in Jammu Badminton



JAMMU: Young Raghav Dogra defeated the many time J&K Champion and talented Vipul Saini 2-1 in the final to lift the coveted men’s singles trophy in the four-day 35th Jammu District Badminton Championship, organised by Jammu City and District Badminton Association at Badminton Arena, Indoor Complex, MA Stadium, here.
Down in the opening set, Raghav fought back and sailing on his better stamina, placing and drops clinched the following two sets to make it a 2-1 victory over his senior. The score: 19-21, 21-13, 21-10.
The men’s doubles trophy went to the pair of Raghav Dogra and Manish Dogra, who trounced the duo of Nakul and Sehdev Singh 2-1 in a well contested title clash. The score: 19-21, 21-15,21-15.
In the finals and prize distribution function, CEO of Devans Modern Breweries Ltd., Vijay Dewan was the Chief Guest, who along with other Guests of Honour presented the title trophies.
Speaking to the gathering, he expressed his happiness over the standard of the game but at the same time advised the players to work hard to win medals at the National level.
Among the Guests of Honour were retired IGP of J&K Police, Gulzar Singh Slathia; Vice President Badminton Association of India, Dr O D Sharma; Managing Director, Chennai Cafe, S Saravanan; Managing Director, Shiva Industries, Ravinder Mahajan; Divisional Sports Officer of J&K Sports Council, Ashok Singh; senior SAI Badminton coach, Sat Pal Sharma; Abhimanyu of Arora Sports; P.D Singh and international veteran badminton player, Basanti Bhat.
Among those prominent present were Col. D V Sharma, Anil Gaind, Rahul Sharma, Anil Gurkha and Sukhdev Singh.
In the meantime, the organisers also gave away consolations prizes to Shourya Jasrotia, Shourya Pratham, Ayush Thakur, Sant Singh, Satyam Tondon, Gopesh Jalal, Bharat Bhushan, Mega Pandita, Shubham Dhar and Aryan Garoo.
The Association praised the Organising Secretary of the championship, Som Raj Gupta for the smooth and successful conduct.
The Results (Finals)
Boys Singles U-19: Sehdev Singh beat Ojas Suri. Boys Doubles U-19: Shedev Singh and Yashdeep Singh beat Ojas Suri and Dheeraj Sharma. Girls U-19 Singles: Unnati Jalal beat Krishika Mahajan. Mixed Doubles U-19: Ojas and Unnati Jala beat Dheeraj and Ksirhika Mahajan. Women’s singles: Unnati Jalal beat Krishika Mahajan. Women Doubles: Unnati and Krishika beat Shambhavi and Shrijus. Men’s Singles: Raghav Dogra beat Vipul Saini. Men’s Doubles: Rahgav and Munish beat Sehdev and Nakul.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here