NYKS J&K & Ladakh organises Youth Parliament Festival



JAMMU: Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan (NYKS) J&K and Ladakh, Ministry of Youth affairs and Sports, Government of India in coordination with NSS organised a state-level Youth Parliament Festival 2021 on Monday via virtual mode.
The main objectives of programme were to hear voice of youth in age group of 18-25 years who can vote but can’t participate as candidate in election, to encourage youth for getting engaged in public issue, making them understand that respect for rules is essential and to obtain their opinions on vision of New India in 2022.
A total of 44 participants hailing from Youth Clubs & Mahila Mandal affiliated with NYKS and NSS from 20 districts namely Kathua, Samba, Jammu, Rajouri, Poonch , Udhampur, Reasi, Kishtwar, Ramban, Doda, Kulgam, Anantnag, Shopian, Pulwama, Srinagar, Ganderbal, Budgam, Baramulla, Bandipora, Kupwara of J&K and 2 districts of Ladakh namely Leh and Kargil participated in State Youth Parliament Festival.
The State Youth Parliament festival was inaugurated by Shamsher Singh Manhas, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha.
While addressing the participants, Manhas said that idea behind the organising District/ State and National level Youth Parliament Festival was of Prime Minster Narender Modi, which he shared during ‘Mann ki Baat’ address on December 31, 2017.
Manhas appreciated organisers and congratulated Bikram Singh Gill, State Director, Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan J&K and Ladakh and his team for organising the State Youth Parliament.
Speaking on the occasion, Gill informed that 1st and 2nd winner of the District level will participate in State Youth Parliament and 1st, 2nd and 3rd winners at state level will participate in National Youth Parliament at Central Hall, Sansad Bhawan, New Delhi on January 12-13, 2021.
He further said that 3 best speakers at the National level will be awarded cash prize of Rs 2 Lakh, Rs 1.50 Lakh and Rs 1 Lakh respectively.
The Jury comprised of seven members namely Prof Gharu Ram Bhagat, DDC Member and Ex MLA, Dr Musavir Ahmed (KAS) NSS Programme Coordinator, Kashmir University, Srinagar, Dr Hema Gandotra Sr Assistant Prof (Deptt of Sociology, Jammu University), Shalini Rana Assistant Prof (HOD English) Govt College of Education Jammu, Reecha Gupta (Artist), Ram Paul Dogra Sr Journalist and Social activist Dr Ghulam Jeelani Zargar Srinagar.
The Jury adjudged Sheikh Yamina as winner from Srinagar while Srishti Koul from Jammu won 2nd position and Nayeeda Choudhary from Samba stood got 3rd position.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here