Many take part in Patnitop Marathon

Winners of Marathon posing for a photograph.


PATNITOP: To encourage people of Jammu and Kashmir and to support Fit India Mission, Patnitop Marathon (India’s Most Beautiful Hill Race) was organised by Ironman Kapil Arora who is an International Tri Athlete, Ultra marathoner and also a Fit India ambassador at Patnitop. Title Sponsor of the event was Skyview by Empyrean.
The event was professionally manged by CYRUNS team from Ahmedabad led by Coach Dr. Rahul Sharma.
Event was supported by Patnitop Development Authority and Jammu Tourism.
Co-Sponsors of the event include Yokohama Tyres, Brooks India, Enerzal India , Kapahi Contractors, Kangra Fort,91.9 RED FM and major Running Groups in the Jammu-Jammu Hills Sports Club and Kathua distance runners.
Many Enthusiastic runners form Udhampur participated in the race and were among the top winners too.
Event was graced by Dist Information Officer, Udhampur Anil Kumar Sharma and ARC Udhampur Rafiq Jaral. They also participated in the 10 km race.
This is the first major sporting event happened in the UT of Jammu and Kashmir this year and over 300 enthusiastic runners from different part of India participated in this event.
Enthusiasm was electrifying when this group of some of the best runners in the country were running among the meadows of Patni top Hills towards Natha Top and Back.
21.1 Km -Half Marathon -18 To 35: Male: Avneet Singh, 1st, Ashish Kotwal, 2nd and Surinder Kumar, 3rd. Female: Rimpy, 1st. 35+ to 45: Male: Vijay Sharma, 1st, Abhishek Sharma, 2nd and Sindhu Sharma, 3rd. Female: Kirti, 1st, Vasudha Samnotra, 2nd and Shweta Mittal, 3rd. 45+ to 55: Male: Rakesh Raina, 1st, Sajad Haider, 2nd and Satpal Gorka, 3rd. Female: Manminder Kaur, 1st. 55+: Male: Ram Paul Kapoor, 1st, Rajesh Padha, 2nd and Om Parkash Sharma, 3rd. Female: Durga Sil, 1st. Top Rank in male category was secured by Avneet Singh with a timing of 1 hour 34 minutes and 47 seconds and in female category was secured by Manminder Kaur with a timing of 2 hours three minutes and 18 seconds.
10 Km Category: Top Rank in Male Category was Raghav Sharma with a timing of 39 minutes and 17 Seconds and in Female category was secured by Shweta Jamwal with a timing of one hour , seventeen minutes and twenty four seconds. 18 To 35 Male: Raghav Sharma, 1st, Ajay Singh, 2nd and Manohar Kumar, 3rd. Female: Shweta Jamwal, 1st, Ishani Gupta, 2nd and Ragini Sadotra, 3rd. 35+ to 45 Male: Mangat Singh, 1st, Pritam Kumar, 2nd and Rahul Sharma, 3rd. Female: Dr Pratiksha Raghuwanshi, 1st, Dr Rahilla Parveen, 2nd and Anupama, 3rd. 45+ to 55 Male: Bhushan Sharma, 1st, Ajay Singh, 2nd and Joginder Paul, 3rd. Female: Bhavna Salathia, 1st. 55+ Male: Naresh Sharma, 1st, Anil Katoch, 2nd and Dr Sanjeev Mohan, 3rd. Female: Rekha Katoch, 1st and Sudesh Basotra, 2nd.
Many senior citizens also participated in the race including Rajesh Padha who was also the Chief mentor of the race.