LAC resents Court’s order regarding virtual hearing, demands revocation

Lawyers during the protest at Jammu.


JAMMU: The lawyers practicing in Jammu wing of J&K High Court and subordinate Courts, under the banner of Lawyers Action Committee (LAC) held strong protest against order No. 189 of 2021/RG dated April 5, 2021 passed by the High Court of J&K wherein all Courts in J&K including High Court and Subordinate Courts have been shifted from physical to virtual hearing mode.
The lawyers took out a protest demonstration in Janipura Court complex, urging Chief Justice to withdraw the order besides resuming physical hearings. They also conveyed their demand to Chief Justice through the Registrar Judicial of the High Court.
It is worthwhile to mention here that the physical hearing was resumed in the High Court and Subordinate Courts after a long struggle of 119 days and dharma conducted by lawyers, which was suspended on Feb 11, 2021.
Protesting lawyers said that it is astonishing that gatherings of lakhs are addressed by Prime Minister and other leaders in elections being conducted in five states of country. Business establishments are open, public transport is plying normally and even Govt offices are functioning then why only Judiciary is being targeted. The protesting lawyers requested the Chief Justice not to get misled by a small group of vested interest and see interest of big majority of lawyers and general public, as the order would cause impediments in justice delivery system. Those who spoke on the occasion included H C Jalmeria, M P Gupta, D S Parihar, C S Gupta, B S Jamwal, Amrit Sarin, Rajinder Jamwal, Bansi Lal Sharma, Rakesh Sharma, Inderjit Abrol, Meharban Singh, Rohit Verma, Daljit Manhas, Parvinder Singh, Jaswinder Singh, Umesh Sharma, Narinder Sharma, Aditya Sharma, Varun Kotwal, Mohd Rashid, Z M Qureshi, M Tariq Mugal, Mumtaz Choudhary, Rahil Manha, Azhar Usman Khan,N A Khan, Bhavishya Sudan, A M Khan, Moti Sharma, Mohd Akram, Arvind Bandral, Pushvinder Singh, Atul Raina, Ajay Kumar, Ashwani Banotra, Qadri Towkeer Nazir, Mudassar Yousuf, Suneel Bharti, Bhanupartap Singh, Vishal Kumar, Randeep Singh, Amit Chib, Arjun Manhas, Vivek Sharma, G S Wazir, Arvind Singh, Ajay Singh, Surab, Pranav, Bhagirath Singh, Rohit Bhagat, Gourab Sharma, Kulbir Jamwal, Karan Bali, Vikram Arora, Amzi Arthor John, Kamal Mangotra, Manjeet Partap Singh, Mulkh Raj and Naresh Kumar.