JNEG demands ‘uniformity’ in distribution of Govt advertisements, ‘Insurance Scheme’ for journalists



JAMMU: A meeting of Jammu Newspapers Editors Guild chaired by Raj Daluja, Chairman (Editor-in-Chief STATE TIMES) and by AK Sawhney, President (Chief Patron Journey Line) was held today and discussed the problems raised by members including distribution of government advertisements by Directorate of Information and Public Relations.
Members also discussed the recent meeting of JNEG delegation with RohitKansal Comm. Secy Information Department. Raj Daluja, Chairman and by AK Sawhney, President apprised Kansal of the arbitrariness, corruption and other problems being faced by the media fraternity of Jammu.
Daluja and Sawhneywhile briefing Kansalsaid that there is no uniformity in distribution of advertisements by Information Department. The issuance of advertisement reflects of malpractices and allotment of Govt advertisements arbitrarily without following any rationale.
They demanded that all policies, rates for advertisements approved by Govt of India should be implemented in Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir as after 5th August 2019 State Laws regarding Newspapers stand repealed.
They also raised the issue of empanelment of newspapers by Directorate of Information and Public Relations as no new newspaper from Jammu has been empanelled from long time despite published regularly.
They also demanded a press colony for Jammu as one in Srinagar and insurance schemes for working Journalists/ reporters/ photographers.
RohitKansal gave a patient hearing and assured the delegation the Government will consider the genuine issued raised by them. A memorandum was also submitted to Kansal.
The other members present during the presser were Ram Kumar Dubey (Editor Kattu Satya), Subash Mehra (Editor Jammu Jotting), Syed Iqbal Kazmi (Editor Daily Udaan), Vijay Gupta (Editor Young Bites), Vishal Chopra (Editor Jammu Metro), Amit Sawhney (Editor Journey Line), Rajiv Mahajan (Editor Top News) and Vinod Kumar (Editor Truly Times), Vicky Singh (Editor Khalsa Express), Sanjeev Chadha (Editor Zinda Sach) and Puneet Arora (Editor Early Post).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here