JNEG demands ‘uniformity’ in distribution of Govt advertisements, ‘Insurance scheme’ for journalists


Delegation calls on Comm Secy Information Deptt


JAMMU: A meeting of Jammu Newspaper Editor’s Guild chaired by Raj Daluja, Chairman (Editor-in-Chief State Times) and A K Sawhney, President (Chief Patron Journey Line) was held on Saturday. During the meeting, various problems raised by members including distribution of Government advertisements by Directorate of Information and Public Relations were discussed threadbare.
Members also discussed recent meeting of JNEG delegation with Rohit Kansal Comm Secy Information Department. Raj Daluja, Chairman and A K Sawhney, President apprised Kansal of arbitrariness, corruption and other problems being faced by media fraternity of Jammu.
Daluja and Sawhney, while briefing Kansal, said that there is no uniformity in distribution of advertisements by the Information Department. The issuance of advertisement reflects malpractices as allotment of Govt advertisements is made arbitrarily, without following any rationale, they added.
They demanded that all policies, advertisement rates approved by Govt of India should be implemented in Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir as after August 5, 2019, State Laws regarding Newspapers stand repealed. They also raised issue of empanelment of newspapers by Directorate of Information and Public Relations, as no new newspaper from Jammu has been empanelled from long time despite being published regularly.
They also demanded a press colony for Jammu as one in Srinagar and insurance schemes for working journalists/ reporters/ photographers.
Rohit Kansal gave a patient hearing and assured the delegation that Government will consider all genuine issues raised by them. A memorandum was also submitted to Kansal by the visiting delegation.
The other members present during the meeting included Ram Kumar Dubey (Editor Kattu Satya), Subash Mehra (Editor Jammu Jotting), Syed Iqbal Kazmi (Editor Daily Udaan), Vijay Gupta (Editor Young Bites), Vishal Chopra (Editor Jammu Metro), Amit Sawhney (Editor Journey Line), Rajiv Mahajan (Editor Top News), Vinod Kumar (Editor Truly Times), Vicky Singh (Editor Khalsa Express), Sanjeev Chadha (Editor Zinda Sach) and Puneet Arora (Editor Early Post).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here