JKMEF opposes proposal of appointing IAS officers in Health Deptt



JAMMU: The leaders of Jammu Kashmir Medical Employee Federation (JKMEF), Jammu on Monday expressed resentment regarding the UT Govt administration proposal of appointing IAS (non medicos) officers as head of department as Director Health Services Jammu/Kashmir, Director JKACS and Director Family welfare & Immunization.
In his meeting through webinar with different associations of Health & Family Welfare, Jammu Sushil Sudan President JKMEF said that posts of Director Health Services, Jammu/Kashmir and other heads is being filled on seniority basis among MBBS and PG qualified doctors in addition to that having a work experience in Health Department.
They know the department from grass root levels and are achieving in a decent way as they have sufficient experience for administrative activities and nowhere in the world have we had such example of a non-technical person heading a fully technical field and also said that they are given to understand that the govt is mulling to appoint non medicos as head of different health department which is nothing but non seriousness of the govt towards the department of health.
he said that a non technical officers will take years together to understand the department and during his tenure till then he will be transferred and new IAS officer will come and try to understand functioning of the department. By this way, he said, Health Department will suffer lot.
In case this practice is changed as have been learnt from reliable sources, then JKMEF will fight it tooth and nail. Lt. Governor of UT Govt Jammu & Kashmir to look into this matter personally and is requested to not to change this practice as it will have serious repercussions for the administration.
Those who attended meeting through webinar were Ch Jarnail Singh, Kamal Jit Sawhney, R.P Singh, Dharminder Singh, Ch Aslam Bhai, JP Singh, Mohd Saleem, Surinder Bakshi, Neelam Devi, Suriya Akhtar, Pawan Jamwal, Uttam Sharma, Harpal Singh, Mohd Nadeem, RK Kotwal, Jaswinder Singh, Neeral Malagar, Kulraj Bittu, Sanjay Khajuria, Jatinder Singh ,Prafulat singh, Tajinder Singh, Sajad Ali, Gurmeet Kour, Rakesh Khajuria, Sanjeev Sharma besides distt presidents and Gen Secretaries.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here