JKGS celebrates Foundation Day


UDHAMPUR: Jammu and Kashmir Gaddi Sabha (JKGS) celebrated 38th Foundation Day on Sunday at Udhampur.
According to handout issued by Kuldeep Kumar, well before commencing of celebration all the members of Sabha paid tributes to the founder President of Sabha, Late Thakur Dass. Two minutes silent was also observed for the peace of the departed soul of Thakur Dass.
All the members, who were present in the meeting, felt the vacuum in community created due to the sad demise of Dass who has laid down his whole life for uniting, educating and uplifting this down trodden community. Gaddi people from different walks of life threw light on the contributions made by Dass. People presented poems, articles, speeches on the life and contributions of their beloved and visionary leader. People said that Sabha was founded by Thakur Dass about four decades before is the only organization which have not left any stone unturned for the betterment and uplifting of Gaddis by getting ST status by which now thousands of people this community are enjoying different benefits. Some speakers impressed upon that there is need of hour to follow the foot prints of Dass, to elevate the community to the recognizable level in the society.
The programme was organised under the chairmanship of Kuldeep Kumar President youth All JKGS People from JK UT and HP participated in the mega celebrations of Sabha. A colorful cultural program on the life of Thakur Dass was also organised in which renowned artists Sunil Rana and Reeta Puhani of HP presented their songs in Gaddi language. Gaddi artists from JK UT Tirath Ram and Those who spoke on the occasion were Pinki Devi (DDC Latti Marothi), Hans Raj Thukan, Balwant Singh, Kuldeep Kumar Sarpanch, Uttam Sarpanch Suraj Parkash, Sardar Singh, Dr. RD Charak (Rtd. Addl Div. Com), Subash Chander ( DDC Narsoo), Parkash, SP Danar, Hans Raj, Rakesh Pawan Sujan, Sudesh Kumar, Mohan Lal, Mohan parkash, Vijay Kumar, Des Raj, Omkar Singh, Parkash, Rakesh, Sunil, Kaku Ram, Sudesh, Ashok, Rajinder, Vijay, Pawan, Surinder, Sohan Raj and many more.