Jammu wrestler Benia Min wins Domana Kesari Dangal



JAMMU: Prominent Jammu and Kashmir wrestler, Benia Min clinched the 18th Annual Domana Kesari Dangal that took place at Domana on Jammu-Akhnoor Road, here.
Dangal took place under the banner of Domana Dangal Committee and in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association and overall supervised by Raj Hussain, president of the organising committee. Serving with J&K Police, Benia of Basantgarh defeated Lakha of Doomchari (Ropar) in Punjab in a 13-minute well contested fight for the title bout. Vice president of the Indian Style Wrestling Association of India, Shiv Kumar Sharma was the chief guest while Ram Paul Sharma, social activist was the guest of honour. Shiv Sharma, Ram Paul and Raj Hussain jointly gave away Rs.31000 cash prize to the winner Benia while runners-up, Lakha received Rs 20,000. In all, 66 bouts decided in this dangal. The second main bout played between Nisar of Doda and Babba of Kot Bhawal which ended in a draw resulting into both the wrestlers sharing R 21,000. This bout ended in a draw that lasted for 20 minutes and both the wrestlers were jointly awarded with cash prize of Rs.21000. Third main bout was won by Rashid of Domana Akhara defeating wrestler Kaka of R S Pura. Winner Rashid was given Rs.11000 while Kaka got Rs.7000. Domana Dangal Committee members and technical staff, who helped in the conduct of this one-day long Dangal included Raj Hussain (president), Bodh Raj Bhagat, Rajinder Seth, Capt (Retd) Guni Ram, Subhash Singh Chib, Surma Singh, Bupinder Singh, Dr Kulvinder Choudhary, Mohd Fareed, Om Parkash Sharma, Darshan Lal and Sunny Sharma (Airtel).
The proceedings of the Dangal were conducted by Mohd Fareed while welcome address was presented by Raj Hussain. Bodh Raj Bhagat extended vote of thanks.
Other Results: Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal beat Akram of Chouadi; Sanjay of Pargal beat Sadiq of Domana; Gopal Sharma of Jindrah beat Parveen of Pathankot; Balwan Singh of Domana beat Kalu of Bishnah; Salman of Chopra shop beat Sethi of R S Pura; Amit of R S Pura beat Bablu of Basantgarh; Kalu of Himachal beat Nadeem of Doda; Muneer of Nagrota beat Surjeet Singh of Reasi and Shotu of Domana beat Madan Singh of Reasi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here