Indian U-20 Women’s team to leave for 21st Asian Volleyball C’ship today



BHUBANESWAR: Indian under-20 Women’s Volleyball Team left for the participation of the 21st Asian Women’s U-20 Volleyball Championship to be held at Nur-Sultan, Kazakhastan from July 4 to 11, 2022 under the auspices of Asian Volleyball Confederation.
The team, comprising of 12 players and six officials, was flagged off from Bhubaneswar on Friday.
Earlier, the Volleyball Federation of India had entrusted the Odisha Volleyball Association to conduct the coaching camp of 20 provisionally selected players at Biju Patnaik Indoor Stadium, Campus-13, KIIT University, Bhubaneswar from April 21, 2022 onwards.
“After the successful conduct of Coaching Camp 12 players were finally selected along with six officials and will leave for Nur-Sultan, Kazakhastan from Bhubaneswar tomorrow to participate in in 21st Asian Women’s U-20 Volleyball Championship to be held at Nur-Sultan, Kazakhastan,” VFI handout issued on Wednesday stated.
Prof. (Dr.) Achyuta Samanta, Member of Parliament, Kandhamal and President Volleyball Federation of India and Founder KIIT & KISS has provided all kinds of help and support for the smooth conduct of this coaching camp and extended his good wishes to the team for Asian Volleyball Championship.
Prof. (Dr.) Achyuta Samanta also announced the Indian Senior Women’s team and given Kit to all the players and officials of the squad.
The Team: Alpna, Gunasekaran Gopika, Shaw Sushma, Chandu Lavanya, Kishan Sneha Mayee, Biju Aleena, Paulin Prisha, Pal Prerona (C), Mallick Debosmita, Annu Devi, Nag Mamali and Das Sathi (L).
Officials: Anil Choudhary (Manager), Ashok Kumar Chhakara (Head Coach), Radhika P (Asst. Coach), Kosari Krishna Prasad (Asst. Coach), Anjali Sardesai (Referee) and Gala Maitri Manish (Physiotherapist).