GMC Jammu Pediatrics deptt observes Int’l Childhood Cancer Day



JAMMU: Department of Pediatrics, Govt. Medical College, Jammu on Saturday organized an awareness programme here at SMGS Hospital to observe International Childhood Cancer Day (ICCD).
Dr. Shashi Sudhan Sharma, Principal & Dean, Govt. Medical College, Jammu was the Chief Guest. While speaking on this occasion, she appreciated the working of the Department of Pediatrics, especially, the work done towards the management of children with cancer. She also encouraged the children with cancer and their parents to continue and complete the treatment.
Head of Pediatrics Department, Professor Dr. Ghanshyam Saini, while delivering the welcome address, informed the gathering about the importance of this day and the work being done in the Pediatric Cancer Unit of the Department. He also emphasized that no child with cancer should be left without treatment. Further, Consultant In-charge Pediatric Cancer Ward, Professor Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Digra delivered a lecture regarding awareness about Pediatric Cancer. He apprised that since the establishment of Pediatric Cancer Ward in 2014, more than 150 children underwent treatment in this unit and the survivor rate amongst the children is comparable with any other Government Centre treating childhood cancers in India.
The survivors and the children with cancer under treatment presented a cultural programme on this occasion.
All the guests present on this occasion were felicitated by the Dr. Shashi Sudhan Sharma; Dr. N.C. Digra, Technical Secretary, Health & Medical Education Department and Nagendra Jamwal, Administrator, GMC & AH Jammu.
The other eminent persons present were Dr. Ashutosh Gupta, HOD Radiotherapy; Dr. Pramod Kalsotra, HOD ENT; Dr. D.R. Dogra, HOD Dermatology; Dr. Subhash Bhardwaj, HOD Pathology; Dr. Surinder Kumar, HOD Obs. & Gynecology; Dr. Vijay Kundal, HOD Medicine; Dr. Kulbushan Gupta, HOD Radiodiagnosis; Dr. Sanjeev Gupta, HOD Orthopedics; Dr. Narinder Singh, Pediatric Surgeon; Dr. Rajesh Mahajan, Assoc. Professor, Anaesthesia; Dr. Ashu Jamwal, Professor Pediatrics; Dr. Sunil Dutt Sharma, Professor Pediatrics; Dr. Mohammad Razaq, Assoc Professor Pediatrics; Dr. Anuj Bhatti, Assoc. Professor Pediatrics and Assistant Professor Pediatrics; Dr. Ravi Parihar and Dr. Koushal Kumar Khajuria.
Vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. Pallavi Sharma, Lecturer Pediatrics.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here