GDC Chenani, GCW Parade conjointly organise webinar



CHENANI: Govt. College for Women, Parade Ground, Jammu and Govt. Degree College, Chenani conjointly organized a webinar on ‘Harnessing Science and Technology for Women Welfare in Jammu region’ on 16-17 December, 2020. The event was sponsored by J&K Science Technology and Innovation council, Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of Jammu and Kashmir.
The proceedings of the Day 1 began with the talk by Dr.ShardaPotukochi, Head, Department of Biotechnology, SMVDU,Kakryal, who spoke at length about various sectorswith the proficient role of women scientists, as also discussed about evolutionary science, transgenesisof plants and animals, genetically engineered food, scope of biotechnology, advances in health sector, etc. Dr. Suresh Bihari Lal, Professor in Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur, the second speaker elaborated at length about STEM, Nanotechnology and the various programmes and schemes introduced by CSIR, UGC, UNESCO, DST and many other organizations to tap the potential of youth and train them in the field of Science and Technology.
Dr. Namrata Sharma, Head, Department of Botany, Jammu University, was the 1st speaker of the second day. She putforth the role of various women in the domain of science by quoting the examples of Jennifer Doudna and Emmanuelle Charpentier, Nobel laureates in Chemistry this year. Dr. AnamikaKhajuria, Scientist, IIIM (CSIR), Jammu emphasised on encouraging women to participate in the scientific fields and stressed upon the need to promote the girl students to join the research arena to help in economic development of the nation as a whole.
The programme started with the welcome address by Dr. S P Sarswat, Principal GCW, Parade Ground while Dr. Pragya Khanna, Principal, Govt. Degree College, Chenani presented the Vote of thanks. The sessions of the webinar were anchored by DrGurpreet Kour, the Organising Secretary of the event. The concluding remarks were presented by Dr SatinderJuneja, Assistant Professor Chemistry. The members of the organisation team included Dr Bhavana Sharma, Prof. Gourav, Dr. Ruchika and Dr Ravinder Kour.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here