Cong workers clash with police during protest against farm laws in Jammu



Jammu: Congress workers clashed with police on Friday when they were stopped from marching to the Raj Bhawan here as part of a protest called in support of farmers agitating against the Centre’s new agri laws.
Police lathi-charged the marchers and briefly detained some of them, an officer said.
Led by Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) president Gulam Ahmed Mir, a large number of party workers assembled at the party headquarters at Shahedi Chowk here and began their march to the Raj Bhawan.
A clash ensued as the police tried to stop them from marching to the Raj Bhawan.
The Congress observed the day as Kisan Adhikar Diwas in support of the rights of farmers who have been protesting against the Centre’s three farm laws. The party is also protesting against hike in fuel prices.
The Congress had planned to take out protest marches in all state capitals in the country and gherao Raj Bhawans.
Addressing the gathering in Jammu, Mir lashed out at the Narendra Modi government and accused it of adopting an “adamant attitude”.
Around 60 farmers have lost their lives during the agitation that began in November last year, but the government is trying to tire out the farmers and not concede to their demand for repeal of the laws, he said.
He said the Congress fully backs the agitation of farmers.
Mir also criticised the government over the hike in prices of petrol and diesel. He demanded that the government roll back the “unreasonable” hike in fuel prices.
They were arrested at City Chowk and taken to Police lines later, they included Corporators Ritu Chowdhury, Vandana Makhnotra, Dr R K Khajuria, Suresh Dogra and Virinder Singh Chib and various others Prominent arrested include Ashwani Puri, Pawan Raina, Shashi Sharma, Pankaj Dogra, Sanjeev Pandit, Sanjeev Sharma ,Col Swarn, Tirth Bhagat, Corporators Bhanu Mahajan, Ch Sobat Ali, Gourav Chopra, Ritu Choudhary, Inderjeet kour, Mouddin khemu,pritam singh,rashpal bhardwaj, all Corporators,Manjit Jatt, Amrit Bali, Dr Ramakant, Ashok Bhagat Narinder Gupta, Kapil Singh, Adv Bhavishya Soodan, Ch Aiyaz, Sahil Sharma, Karan Bhagat, Sonu Dogra, Vijay Sharma, Sanjay Manhas, Ch Masood Adv, Rehmatullah Rounyal, Rajesh Kumar, Gurmeet Singh, Gulzar Wani, Ricky Dalotra, Javed Lone, Baldev Singh Wazir, Kewel Yogi, Ashwani Sharma. Lucky Ssingh, Ram Mangotra, Pawan Singh and Dwarka Prashad, Sr. Vice President Rural District Ravinder Singh, Mohan Choudhary, Chander Prabha, Romesh Mottan, Shil Sharma, Gurmeet Kour, Kuldeep Sharma, Rajdev Singh, Sham Mottton and others.
Prominent among those who participated in the rally include Former ministers Mula Ram, Raman Bhalla, R S Chib, Balwan Singh Ex-MLA, Ravinder Sharma, Yogesh Sawhney, Kanta Bhan, Th Manmohan singh, Rajnish Sharma, Ex MLA Shiv Dev singh, Ch Gharu Ram, Th Balbir Singh,Ex-MLA, T S Bajwa Ex MP, Ch Shah Mohammad, Shabir Ahmed Khan Ex Minister, Krishan Krishan Bhagat Bhagat MLA, Udey Chib, Rajesh Sadhotra, vandana Makhnotra, Feroz Khan, Ch Abdul Ghani, Vinod Sharma, Th Hari Singh, Sdr Gurdarshan Singh, Suresh Dogra, Ch Dwarka and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here